FR / EN

News | Artworks | Biography | Publications | Exhibitions | Contact

Reactive matter
"Reactive matter" is a series of interactive behavioural artworks realised by the artist duo Scenocosme with specific kind of "Programmable Matter" hardware called "Blinky Blocks".


Reactive matter : Rhizome 001
Interactive light and sound behavioural installation
Programmable material and electronic clay
Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt






Blow on the membrane of the artwork
or caress it gently



Approach
and emit different vocalizations


"Rhizome 001" is a sculptural and interactive artwork that reacts like a living organism.

Like a root, this sculpture deploys in the area, perceives and feels its environment. This hybrid electronic ecosystem is composed of more than 120 independent cellular robotic structures that are linked together.

Each group of cells is grafted with a transparent membrane that allows it to feel the caresses and breath of the spectators. Each robotic structure also perceives sounds and reacts with different feedbacks. The variations change depending on the intonations of the voices and the duration of the vocalizations. Each of the 120 electronic cells is retroactive. They emit different sounds, rhythms and light intensities in response to the audience stimuli.

The artwork surface is made of 120 micro-controllers, 120 independent micro-speakers, 120 light sources, etc.
Sensitive, robotic bases also influence each other, between neighbouring cells, like cooperative living organisms. "Rhizome" is inspired by the communication and spatial arrangement of plants, corals, termites, fireflies, micro-organisms etc.







Glossary

"Programmable Matter" and "Claytronics" (electronic clay)

The nano-metric robots called “claytronics” atoms (or “catoms”) could be assembled to form larger objects. The denomination is a contraction of “clay” and “electronics”. The principle is to create small interactive objects capable of being linked together for design large structures that can be freely transformed. This is the concept of synthetic reality. They are Called catoms” by analogy with the term “atom”. Assembling through electromagnetic forces these objects can interact together. These “catoms” can form easily modifiable objects such as modelling clay.

The fabrication methods for realizing these “catoms” is being invented. For now, only few research laboratories in the world are developing macroscopic-sized prototypes. They are also developing new algorithms and specific electronics that allow “catoms” to communicate together to constitute a single whole. Each element of this matter can be programmable.



The “Blinky Blocks”

The artists Scenocosme: Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt are currently developing several interactive sculptural projects with a specific "Programmable Matter" hardware: the “Blinky Blocks”. For doing this project they collaborating with the scientists Julien Bourgeois and Benoit Piranda of the research lab FEMTO-ST (Science & Technology).




“Blinky Blocks” can be assembled as easily as LEGO. With these elements the artists Scenocosme build interactive sculptures in which each brick has its own software and behaviour. The whole object is able to produce environments with simulated artificial behaviours.
This project have started during the Art & Science residency program: Vertigo S-T-ARTS (Science Technology and the ARTS). Initiated by IRCAM, this project aims to "promote the collaboration of artists with projects in the field of technology"


The “Blinky Blocks” are “claytronics” originally developed by the Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. In France, at Montbéliard, on the site Numerica, the research laboratory FEMTO-ST (Science -Technology) is working on the algorithmic part of the Blinky Blocks.

The current generation of “Blinky blocks” are cubic, 4cm-side. These electronic devices are capable of emitting coloured light and sound. They are equipped with a gyroscopic sensors and a microphone. They are perceiving the sound, the vibrations, the movements and they can interact with each other. It is possible to agglomerate them by magnetization and they are able to transmit computer data to their neighbours.

Other "Programmable Matter" hardware are being developed at the University of Tokyo with a spherical shape, a size of a few millimetres and with the ability to move by themselves. The difficulty is to create object capable of changing shape and being conscience of its shape in the physical space. This is necessary to inject programs and "Artificial Intelligence" into these tiny robots to give them the ability to shape complex objects and to interact with each other.

We are all made up of atoms aggregate together. The principle of "Programmable Matter" is similar: to develop primary bricks capable of communicating with each other in order to organize themselves.




Support and co-production :

With the great helps of Julien Bourgeois, Benoit Piranda, André Naz, Frédéric Lassabe, Nicolas Boillot, Theophile Huau Armani

Artwork realised with the support of the VERTIGO project as part of the STARTS program of the European Commission, based on technological elements “Programmable Matter” from the research lab FEMTO-ST / CNRS

      Programmable Matter : https://projects.femto-st.fr/programmable-matter/
      VERTIGO STARTS : https://vertigo.starts.eu/








































Previous exhibitions of Reactive matter

Creation february 2020


Le Centquatre / établissement artistique - Paris (Fr)
STARTS Residencies
"Art X Technology X Innovation"
28/02/2020 - 01/03/2020 : www.104.fr

Biennale Experimenta / Arts Sciences - Grenoble (Fr)
11/02/2020 - 15/02/2020 : www.experimenta.fr




Previous talk about Reactive matter


Festival Scopitone - Nantes (Fr)
Journée professionnelle Starts
Conférence : Innovation at the nexus of science, technology and the arts
21/09/2018 : www.stereolux.org


Centre Pompidou - Paris (Fr)
Festival Manifeste / IRCAM
Curated by IRCAM and VERTIGO
Conférence Starts Residencies / Science Technology and the ARTS
15/06/2018 : www.centrepompidou.fr, https://manifeste.ircam.fr, www.ircam.fr

Scenocosme : Gregory Lasserre & Anais met den Ancxt - www.scenocosme.com

FR / EN

Actualités | Oeuvres | Biographie | Publications | Historique | Contact

Reactive matter
"Reactive matter" est une série d’œuvres interactives comportementales réalisée par les artistes Scenocosme à partir de matière programmable ("Programmable Matter") spécifiques : les "Blinky Blocks".


Reactive matter : Rhizome 001
Installation comportementale interactive lumineuse et sonore
Matière programmable et argile électronique
Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt






Soufflez sur la membrane de l’œuvre
ou caressez-la-délicatement



Approchez-vous
et émettez des vocalises variées


"Rhizome 001" est une œuvre sculpturale et interactive qui se comporte comme un organisme vivant.

Telle une racine, cette création prend corps et se déploie dans l’espace pour mieux percevoir et ressentir son environnement. Cet écosystème électronique hybride est composé de plus de 120 structures robotiques cellulaires indépendantes mais accolées les unes aux autres.

Chaque groupe de cellules est greffé à une membrane transparente qui lui permet de ressentir les caresses et le souffle des spectateurs. Chaque structure robotique perçoit également les sons et réagit par des rétroactions différentes en fonction des intonations des voix plus ou moins graves à aigu et de la durée des vocalises. Chacune des 120 cellules électroniques est rétroactive. Elles émettent des scénarios comportementaux sonores, des rythmes et intensités lumineuses différentes en réponse aux stimulus des publics.

L’œuvre déploie ainsi sur sa surface, 120 microcontrôleurs, 120 micro hauts parleurs indépendants, 120 sources lumineuses etc..
Sensibles, les bases robotiques s'auto influencent également entres elles, entres cellules voisines, tel des organismes vivants coopératifs. "Rhizome" s'inspire à la fois des modes de communication et d'agencement des plantes, des coraux, des termites, des lucioles, des micro organismes etc.







Glossaire

"Programmable Matter" et "Claytronics" (l’argile électronique)

Les robots nanométriques appelés claytronic atoms (ou catoms) s’assemblent pour former des objets plus importants. La dénomination est une contraction de clay, argile, et de electronics. Le principe consiste à créer des petits objets interactifs qui peuvent s’assembler pour constituer de grandes structures transformables à volonté. C’est le concept de la réalité synthétique. Appelées catoms en anglais et par analogie au terme atome. En s’assemblant, par le biais de forces électromagnétiques, et en interagissant ensemble ces catoms permettraient d’obtenir des objets aussi facilement modifiables que de la pâte à modeler.
Les techniques de fabrication de ces catoms est en cours d’invention. Pour l’instant seulement quelques laboratoires dans le monde développent des prototypes de taille macroscopique. Ils mettent également au point les nouveaux algorithmes et l’électronique spécifiques qui permettent aux catoms de communiquer ensemble pour former un tout.Chaque élément de cette matière peut être programmable.



Les Blinky Blocks

Les artistes Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt développent actuellement plusieurs projets d’œuvres sculpturales interactives avec de la "Programmable Matter" spécifique: les Blinky Blocks. Ils réalisent se projet en collaborant avec les scientifiques Julien Bourgeois et Benoit Piranda du laboratoire de recherche FEMTO-ST (Science &Technologie).



Les Blinky Blocks s’assemblent presque aussi facilement que des LEGO. Les artistes Scenocosme construisent avec des sculptures interactives complexes dans lesquels chaque brique possède sont propre comportement logiciel. Le tout est capable de produire des environnements propices à la propagation de comportements artificiels évolutifs.
Ce projet est réalisé dans le cadre d'un programme de résidence Art & Science : Vertigo S-T-ARTS (Science Technology and the ARTS). Initié par l’Ircam ce projet vise à «promouvoir la collaboration d’artistes avec des projets dans le champ technologique»


Les Blinky Blocks sont des Claytronics développés au départ par le laboratoire de recherche du Carnegie Institute of Technology de l’Université Carnegie-Mellon à Pittsburgh (Pennsylvanie). En France, à Montbéliard, sur le site de recherche Numerica c’est le laboratoire de recherche FEMTO-ST (Science &Technologie) qui travaille sur la partie algorithmique des Blinky Blocks.

La génération actuelle de Blinky Blocks sont des dispositifs électroniques cubiques, de 4cm de côté, capables d’émettre de la lumière colorée et du son minimal. Ils sont équipés de plusieurs capteurs gyroscopiques et de microphone. Ils perçoivent donc le son, les vibrations, les déplacements et peuvent interagir entre eux. Il est possible de les agglomérer les uns aux autres par aimantation et ils sont capables de transmettre des données informatiques à leurs voisins.

D’autres matériels sont développés à l’Université de Tokyo avec une forme sphérique, une taille de quelques millimètres et la capacité de se déplacer par eux-mêmes. Les chercheurs travaillent dans le cadre de ce que l’on nomme la programmation distribuée. La grande problématique qui les occupe est de savoir si l’on peut créer une matière capable de changer de forme et d’avoir conscience de sa forme dans l’espace physique. Il s’agit d’injecter des programmes et une « Intelligence Artificielle » à ces robots minuscules pour leur donner la faculté de former des objets complexes et d’interagir entre eux.

Nous sommes tous constitués d’atomes agglomérés ensemble. Le principe de la matière programmable est semblable : mettre au point des briques primaires capables de communiquer entre elles pour s’organiser.




Soutien et coproduction :

Avec les aides précieuses de Julien Bourgeois, Benoit Piranda, André Naz, Frédéric Lassabe, Nicolas Boillot, Theophile Huau Armani

Oeuvre réalisée avec le soutien de "VERTIGO project" faisant partie de "STARTS program of the European Commission", elle est basée sur la technologie de "Programmable Matter" du laboratoire de recherche FEMTO-ST / CNRS

      Programmable Matter : https://projects.femto-st.fr/programmable-matter/
      VERTIGO STARTS : https://vertigo.starts.eu/








































Précédentes expositions de Reactive matter

Création février 2020


Le Centquatre / établissement artistique - Paris (Fr)
STARTS Residencies
"Art X Technology X Innovation"
28/02/2020 - 01/03/2020 : www.104.fr

Biennale Experimenta / Arts Sciences - Grenoble (Fr)
11/02/2020 - 15/02/2020 : www.experimenta.fr




Précédentes conférences sur Reactive matter


Festival Scopitone - Nantes (Fr)
Journée professionnelle Starts
Conférence : Innovation at the nexus of science, technology and the arts
21/09/2018 : www.stereolux.org


Centre Pompidou - Paris (Fr)
Festival Manifeste / IRCAM
Curated by IRCAM and VERTIGO
Conférence Starts Residencies / Science Technology and the ARTS
15/06/2018 : www.centrepompidou.fr, https://manifeste.ircam.fr, www.ircam.fr

Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt - www.scenocosme.com