FR / EN

News | Artworks | Biography | Publications | Exhibitions | Contact

Contaminations
Photos and objects
Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt


Presentation PDF + Photos





"Contaminations" is a series of photos and objects started in April 2020 during the Covid-19 crisis.

This is a work in progress. Here are the first sketches of this serie of creations.

The spine appeared to us as a strong symbol of these new physical and social distances born and experienced during this period of isolation. These distances profoundly affect us by transforming our relationship with others and the world. The spine is a mental projection on the perception of our own bodies, marked by fear, suffering and the search for protection.

For many years we have been exploring the question of touch, its sensoriality, its language, its vital strength, its relationship to the world ” “touch, is to touch ourselves, says Merleau-Ponty […] things are the continuation of my body and my body is the continuation of the world which surrounds me [...]. The touch and the contact must be understood as the other side of one another” . The object touches us when we touch it, and it dissipates when the contact ends”.(David Le Breton, La Saveur du Monde, 2006)

The question of the skin arises more ardently today, how to apprehend it, perceive it, live it, feel it. The spin, this plant horn, pricks our eyes, sinks into the skin. In the form of a mental image, it goes through us, and it seeks to hybridize with our human elements, skin, flesh and bone. This symbolic hybridization with spines aspires to protect our own body. This body that contaminates and protects itself at the same time. The spin is also a defence that symbolizes life.
By appropriating the spines of the plant, we project excrescences on our body that gradually follow an epidermal evolution, to get closer to a form of animality.

From this period of health crisis, we approach a metamorphosis that is gradually embodied through photos, objects/sculptures and probably installations.

Our artworks follow the concept of hybridization since 2007, in order to explore different artistic process of crossings, meetings, living and symbolic interactions. Crossing different kind of elements allows us to create new symbolic relationships between our human body and our natural and social environment. The hybridization present in our artworks aims to create a singular unity between matter that did not seek to meet.

It is within these delicate crosses that we draw sensitive interactions with the body. The plant has been several times a source of inspiration and matter for our interactive artworks such as «Akousmaflore» or «Matières sensibles», and currently for a series of photos and sculptures. Today, we would like to appropriate and imitate its defences: its spines. We imagine to cross them with our body, in the form of vegetal excrescence.




Previous exhibitions of "Distances"


This artwork was born in April 2020 in response to the Covid-19 crisis.



Emery Community Arts Center / University of Maine Farmington (USA)
Exhibition Detour online
25/06/2019 - 23/07/2019 : http://wpsites.maine.edu/emerycommunityartscenter/


Scenocosme : Gregory Lasserre & Anais met den Ancxt - www.scenocosme.com

FR / EN

Actualités | Oeuvres | Biographie | Publications | Historique | Contact

Contaminations
Photos et objets
Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt


Dossier de présentation PDF + Photos





"Contaminations" est une série de photos et d'objets réalisés en avril 2020 pendant la crise du Covid-19.

Il s'agit d'un work in progress. Nous présentons ici les premières esquisses de cette série de créations.


L'épine nous est apparue comme un symbole fort de ces nouvelles distances physiques et sociales nées et vécues au cours cette période d'isolement. Aussi piquantes que subites, ces distances nous affectent profondément en transformant notre rapport aux autres et au monde. L'épine est une projection mentale sur la perception de nos propres corps, marqués par la crainte, la souffrance et la recherche d'une protection.

Nous explorons depuis de nombreuses années la question du toucher, sa sensorialité, son langage, sa force vitale, son rapport au monde « Toucher, c’est se toucher, dit Merleau-Ponty […] les choses sont le prolongement de mon corps et mon corps est le prolongement du monde qui m’entoure […]. Il faut comprendre le toucher et le se toucher comme envers l’un de l’autre. » L’objet nous touche quand nous le touchons, et se dissipe quand le contact se défait. ».

La question de la peau se pose avec plus d'ardeur aujourd'hui, comment l'appréhender, la percevoir, la vivre, la ressentir. L'épine, cette corne végétale, nous pique le regard, s'immisce sous la peau. Sous forme d'image mentale, elle nous traverse, cherche à s'hybrider avec nos éléments humains, peau, chair et os. Cette hybridation symbolique avec des épines tend à protéger notre propre corps. Ce corps qui contamine et se protège en même temps. L’épine est par ailleurs une défense qui symbolise la vie.

En nous appropriant les épines du végétal, nous projetons des excroissances sur notre corps qui suivent progressivement une évolution épidermique, pour se rapprocher d'une forme d'animalité.

De cette période de crise sanitaire, nous abordons une métamorphose qui s'incarne progressivement à travers des photos, des objets/sculptures et sans doute des installations.

Nos œuvres intègrent le concept d'hybridation depuis 2007, afin d'explorer différents processus artistiques de croisements, de rencontres, d'interactions vivantes et symboliques. Croiser des éléments de milieux différents permet de susciter de nouvelles relations symboliques entre notre corps humain et notre environnement naturel et social. L'hybridation présente dans nos créations tend à créer une unité singulière entre des matières qui ne cherchaient pas à se rencontrer.

C'est au sein de ces croisements délicats que nous dessinons des interactions sensibles avec le corps. Le végétal a été à plusieurs reprises une source d'inspiration et une matière pour nos œuvres interactives telles que « Akousmaflore », ou « Matières sensibles », et actuellement pour une série de photos et sculptures. Aujourd'hui, ce sont ses défenses, ses épines, que nous souhaitons approprier, imiter en les croisant avec notre corps, sous forme d'excroissances végétales.




Précédentes expositions de "Contaminations"


Cette œuvre est née en avril 2020 pendant la crise du Covid-19.



SEAS - Socially Engaged Art Salon - Brighton (UK)
Online exhibition "Life, Interrupted"
Curator : Tugba Tirpan
14/0/2020 - 14/10/2020 : www.seasbrighton.com

Emery Community Arts Center / University of Maine Farmington (USA)
Online exhibition "Detour"
25/06/2020 - 23/07/2020 : http://wpsites.maine.edu/emerycommunityartscenter/



Scenocosme : Grégory Lasserre & Anaïs met den Ancxt - www.scenocosme.com